Seven deadly Sins / Sieben Todsünden / Sete pecados Capitais / Siete pecados Capitales

The Seven Deadly Sins is a grouping and classification of vices of Christian origin. Behaviors or habits are classified under this category if they directly give birth to other immoralities.

The modern concept of the Seven Deadly Sins is linked to the works of the fourth-century monk Evagrius Ponticus, who listed eight evil thoughts in Greek as follows:

1 Γαστριμαργία (gastrimargia) gluttony

2 Πορνεία (porneia) prostitution

3 Φιλαργυρία (philargyria) avarice

4 Ὑπερηφανία (hyperēphania) pride

5 Λύπη (lypē) sadness

6 Ὀργή (orgē) wrath

7 Κενοδοξία (kenodoxia) boasting

8 Ἀκηδία (akēdia) acedia

They were translated into the Latin of Western Christianity thus becoming part of the Western tradition’s Catholic devotions as follows:

1 Gula (gluttony)

2 Luxuria (lust)

3 Avaritia (greed)

4 Superbia (pride)

5 Tristitia (despair)

6 Ira (wrath)

7 Vanagloria (vainglory)

8 Acedia (sloth)

Most of the Seven Deadly Sins, with the sole exception of sloth, are defined by Dante Alighieri as perverse or corrupt versions of love for something or another:

Lust, gluttony, and greed are all excessive or disordered Love of good things; sloth is a deficiency of Love; wrath, envy, and pride are perverted love directed toward other’s harm.

In the seven capital sins are seven ways of eternal death. The Seven Deadly Sins from lust to envy are generally associated with pride, which has been labeled as the father of all sins.

Luxuria / Lust

Gula / Gluttony

Avaritia / Greed

Acedia / Sloth

Ira / Wrath

Invidia / Envy

Superbia / Pride

No Comments Yet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *